Images of South Africa

Today I find myself sifting through old photos and feeling indescribably thankful for the experiences I’ve been afforded.  Around this time four years ago, I was ecstatic having found out I was accepted to study with my dream study abroad program in South Africa.  It seems insufficient to say the few months spent there “changed everything”, so I will let a few of my favorite photos from my archives do the talking. South Africa stole my heart.

DSC_0076

A salute to the “uMkhonto weSizwe” (MK) armed struggle that fought Apartheid.

DSC_0657

A mama observes a local football match in Kayalitsha Township.

DSC_0665

I felt little eyes on me. Kayalitsha Township, Cape Town.

DSC_0909

A fellow students host Tata dressed in his finest Xhosa dress for a celebration. Cape Town.

DSC_1023

Lessons on how to start a proper fire at Kwa Ttu reservation outside of Cape Town.

DSC_1194

A man attends mosque in Bo Kaap.

DSC_1246

The faces of my sweet little “Bhutis” and “Sisis”, forever ingrained in my mind. Tshabo, South Africa.

DSC_1284

Off to Madrasa. Bo Kaap.

DSC_1317

Host brother Riyaan, in contemplation. Bo Kaap.

DSC_1321

Little fingers. Tshabo, Eastern Cape.

DSC_1325

Mama. Tshabo, Eastern Cape.

DSC_1422

Heaven on earth: Sunday market at Old Biscuit Mill. Cape Town.

DSC_1435

A view that could break your heart. Camps Bay, Cape Town.

DSC_1437

Camps Bay, Cape Town.

DSC_1448

The celebration of Eid. Cape Town.

DSC_1476

Granny on Eid. Cape Town.

DSC_1590

Qhayiya. Tshabo, Eastern Cape.

DSC_1632

The slaughter house. Cape Town.

DSC_1665

Tshabo, Eastern Cape.

DSC_1730

Bafana Bafana fans at a friendly match between USA and South Africa. Cape Town.

DSC_1738

Sizwe. Tshabo, Eastern Cape.

DSC_1767

The walk home. Tshabo, Eastern Cape.

DSC_1770

Mama and crew. Tshabo, Eastern Cape.

DSC_2096

The magic hour, in the magic apartment. Camps Bay, Cape Town.

DSC_2402

Celebration for the environment. Kayalitsha Township, Cape Town.

DSC_2548

A family enjoys an outdoor concert held in Kirstenbosch Gardens. Cape Town.

DSC_2645

Lions Head, as seen from Camps Bay.

DSC_2795

Exploring the vineyards of Stellenbosch.

DSC_2875

A shepherd carries the baby goats who are too young to walk. Cape Town.

11 thoughts on “Images of South Africa

  1. Now I’m envious, you get to travel to South Africa and get such a nice collection of photos! I would love to have this similar chance to get there as well! Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Around the World in 10 Moments — Blog — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

